July 23, 2024

Sports Enthusiast

Professional Sports Purveyors

F1 2024 teams, drivers, dates: Formula 1 race, schedule and line-ups are set for new season | F1 News

F1 2024 teams, drivers, dates: Formula 1 race, schedule and line-ups are set for new season | F1 News

Formula 1 will scale new heights in 2024 with a record schedule length of 24 races for the first time. All race weekends will be live on Sky Sports F1.

The season again starts in the Middle East with back-to-back races in Bahrain (March 2) and Saudi Arabia (March 9). They will both take place on a Saturday in 2024 due to Ramadan.

China returns for the first time since 2019, as the season’s fifth round, while the British GP at Silverstone is on July 7. The season will finish in December with the Abu Dhabi GP on December 8.

There will again be six Sprint weekends, at the Chinese, Miami, Austrian, United States, Sao Paulo and Qatar Grands Prix.

F1 calendar in full

The 2024 Formula 1 schedule

February 21-23 Pre-season testing (Bahrain)
February 29-March 2 Bahrain Grand Prix
March 7-9 Saudi Arabian Grand Prix
March 22-24 Australian Grand Prix
April 5-7 Japanese Grand Prix
April 19-21 Chinese Grand Prix*
May 3-5 Miami Grand Prix*
May 17-19 Emilia Romagna Grand Prix
May 24-26 Monaco Grand Prix
June 7-9 Canadian Grand Prix
June 21-23 Spanish Grand Prix
June 28-30 Austrian Grand Prix*
July 5-7 British Grand Prix
July 19-21 Hungarian Grand Prix
July 26-28 Belgian Grand Prix
August 23-25 Dutch Grand Prix
August 30 – September 1 Italian Grand Prix
September 13-15 Azerbaijan Grand Prix
September 20-22 Singapore Grand Prix
October 18-20 United States Grand Prix*
October 25-27 Mexico City Grand Prix
November 1-3 Sao Paulo Grand Prix*
November 21-23 Las Vegas Grand Prix
November 29 – December 1 Qatar Grand Prix*
December 6-8 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix
*Sprint weekend

New F1 sprint format

The Sprint format for 2024 has changed in an attempt to create a better spectacle.

Following free practice on a Friday, Sprint qualifying (also known as the Sprint Shootout), rather than qualifying for Sunday’s full-length race, will take place as the day’s second session.

The Sprint will follow first thing on Saturday, before traditional qualifying comes later in the day, ahead of the race on Sunday.

Please use Chrome browser for a more accessible video player

The drivers have their say on the Sprint weekend format ahead of the Sao Paulo Grand Prix.

The teams and drivers: A rare unchanged grid

If the make-up of the 2024 field looks familiar, then that’s because it is. The 20-driver grid that lines up in Bahrain on March 2 will be exactly the same as the one that finished the 2023 campaign in Abu Dhabi.

While such winter stability is highly unusual, don’t expect that to last long-term given as many as 13 of the field are out of contract at the end of 2024.

F1 2023 grid photo

Only Lewis Hamilton, George Russell, Oscar Piastri, Charles Leclerc, Lando Norris and Max Verstappen (2028) officially have deals in place beyond 2024 so far.

Red Bull: Max Verstappen and Sergio Perez

Mercedes: Lewis Hamilton and George Russell

Ferrari: Carlos Sainz and Charles Leclerc

McLaren: Lando Norris and Oscar Piastri

Aston Martin: Fernando Alonso and Lance Stroll

Alpine: Esteban Ocon and Pierre Gasly

Williams: Logan Sargeant and Alex Albon

RB: Yuki Tsunoda and Daniel Ricciardo

Sauber: Zhou Guanyu and Valtteri Bottas

Haas: Kevin Magnussen and Nico Hulkenberg

F1 live on Sky Sports

Sky Sports F1 will have live coverage of every F1 session in 2024, plus Formula 2 and Formula 3 action.

All seven rounds of F1 Academy will also be live on Sky Sports with the all-women’s series featuring on the F1 support series bill in Saudi Arabia, Miami, Spain, the Netherlands, Singapore, Qatar and Abu Dhabi.

Sky Sports F1 viewers can experience live races from inside the car of their favourite F1 driver. You can watch onboard live stream of any of the 20 drivers – complete with team radio messages – for every race, Sprint, qualifying and practice session this season.

Sky customers with a Sky Sports F1 subscription just need to download the Sky Sports App and log in to ride with Lewis Hamilton, Max Verstappen, Charles Leclerc or any driver of their choice.